Travel Reviews - Belize Sailing Vacations Travel Reviews - Belize Sailing Vacations

Travel Reviews

girl snorkeling in blue belize water

REVIEWS

Belize Sailing Vacations Experiences

Guest

Travel Reviews from TripAdvisor

We are proud to be consistently rated a 5-star experience on TripAdvisor and other review sites. Please take a look at some of the awesome reviews we’ve received online :

https://www.tripadvisor.com/VacationRentalReview-g291968-d2018503-Belize_Sailing_Vacations_Belize-Belize_City_Belize_District.html

“Incredible family memories for 20 year wedding anniversary”

For a stay in June 2015
We had an awesome family vacation for our 20 year wedding anniversary (--June 24th--). Our crew was Rufus & Kate Brand. They were the absolute best! We have done charter trips in the past --BVIs-- and knew what to expect. These guys went over and beyond! They even coordinated a wonderful beach barbecue on the day of our anniversary where my 3 boys and I surprised my husband with special words about our marriage & family. It was beyond special! Belize is beautiful but what matters is who you spend the time with on your vacation and these guys entertained us and especially the boys! My oldest got a sailing lesson which he thoroughly enjoyed. I highly recommend BSV and ask for Rufus & Kate! They make the company shine! Happy Sailing!!!
Chandra H
“Trip of a lifetime- dream honeymoon trip”

For a stay in May 2015
Belize Sailing Vacation not only met but totally exceeded my expectations on what my honeymoon was going to be. Before even stepping foot in the beautiful country of Belize I knew this was going to be a great trip thanks to Mandy, who worked with me tirelessly to make this dream a reality. She responded to every email immediately, scheduled pick up from airport, all the essentials my husband and I requested; it was a true pleasure working with her to make this happen. We were on the Sea Dale, which was a perfect size for a solo couple; we had plenty of room and never felt crowded the whole week on board- it was so nice having our own side of the ship with a nice size bedroom, bathroom, and shower. The crew was amazing- Captain Wayne "1/2 inch" was so knowledgeable about the ship and the waters- he grew up on the sea and you can see his passion for what he does. He took us to some of the most amazing islands, snorkeling everyday in the most beautiful waters I have ever seen (and I have seen a lot)- he also has quite the sense of humor and loves fishing, which was a huge plus for my husband. Our on board chef was Kerrie from Philadelphia, her food was a dream. There is not a single meal I was not fond of, and I still dream of her banana/coconut curry! If you have the pleasure to sail with this crew, you are one lucky group! We didn't venture off the boat too much, we felt so at home there and really loved the life of a sailor for the week- but there is plenty to do if you do decide to venture off the boat. On our last day Kerrie arranged for us to be picked up at the marina and taken on a day excursion to the zoo them cave tubing. Both were so much fun, the gentleman they set us up with was so informative, knew every animal in the zoo (with incredible accuracy on his birds), and knew all sorts of fun stories about the Mayans while we were tubing. Overall, this was a trip of a lifetime, it was truly life in the lap of luxury!
agossett
“Excellent advanced sailing training- also very fun!!!!!!”

For a stay in April 2015

I had signed up to do some advanced sailing training. 2 weeks before the trip the other student canceled. I was given the option to reschedule (I needed the training now!) or a shorter private training even though they don't normally do that. Cliffe Wilson, my Capt and instructor was a competent, professional, encouraging teacher. As a former flight instructor I know what it takes to be an excellent teacher and he is!!!! I came away much more confidence in my Captain ability and had a lot of fun along the way. Kerrie, along with Cliffe's wife Rachael made us delicious food (I want the recipes!) arranged for Allie, a tour guide friend to give me a private snorkel tour of the marine reserve, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I feel like I have new friends out on the water. Thanks to all of you!
Karen C
“WOW!!!!!”

Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
We have the pleasure of staying on the Doris for 10 glorious nights. Right from the time our flip flops hit the bucket until we tied back to the dock at the marina, Captain Andy and Kainie took amazing care of my husband, my sister and her husband. Mandy in the office did a great job of putting together our trip.

Andy is a very good sailor and the guys enjoyed taking their ASA 101 with him. He took us to the best snorkel spots and it was great that he accompanied us to show us some interesting things we probably would of missed without his eagle eyes! The reef is very healthy!!

Kainie's meals were soooooo good. She did a fantastic job with my sisters gluten allergy! Kainie is very organized, good communicator and very easy to visit with.

Definitely would like to return to do the outer reef with Andy and Kainie.

Thanks Belize Sailing Vacation.
Hockey Alberta
“Completed my ASA bareboat certification. Simply excellent.”

Reviewed December 7, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
Spent 5 days aboard Aubisque (47' sailing catamaran). I expected to learn how to sail better (which I did) but got a lot more. The hospitality, food, drinks and good times far exceeded my expectations.

Was looking for an option to complete my ASA (American Sailing Association) Bareboat 104 and Bareboat Catamaran 114 courses and Belize Sailing Vacations came up as a good option from the ASA website.

Firstly, we were on board with 2 extremely experienced instructors - Cliff Wilson and Curtis Collins. In itself, that's a pure luxury for anyone learning to sail and more than worthy of chartering BSV for. The amount I learned in this 5 days was immense and I feel very confident taking the next step and taking a Bareboat Catamaran out on my own.

Secondly, the food and drinks were magnificent. I expected glorified camping, but it was much closer to fine dining. To name a few favorites.... Grilled Lobster Tail, Conch Ceviche, Shrimp Curry, Spanish Mackerel and Banana Muffins. They even managed the best Pumpkin Pie I've ever eaten in honor of Thanksgiving - don't ask me how.

Lastly, the company and good times were loads and loads of fun. It's a little daunting to know you're going to be on a 5 day boat trip with people you barely know, but it proved to be very relaxed and comfortable. Cliff and Curtis were great to have on board and really made the trip for us. We also met up with another of the BSV's charter boats and made friends with those on board where we had a great Thanksgiving dinner. The crew on the other boat (Rachael and Genevieve) were very welcoming and a lot of fun too.

All in all, I can't rate this vacation highly enough and I'm really looking forward to doing it again.
“Worth every penny! Thank you Rory, Carrie and Sea Dale”

Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
We were excited to spend a week aboard the Sea Dale with captain Rory and chef Carrie, while Dan successfully took his ASA certification. The cabins were comfortable and spacious, the meals were delicious and Carrie took care of the special needs of one of our guests who was quite ill. Rory, you are a professional! Competent, patient, a skilled sailor and a delightful person , thank you for your guidance and for passing on your knowledge. We had a wonderful vacation and have memories that will last a lifetime.
Treemillie
“Just Another Day in Paradise”

For a stay in May 2015

We are a family of 4 who decided that we wanted to try something different for our vacation this year. We booked our vacation through Absolute Belize who handled our entire booking from start to finish. I was completely satisfied with our trip. All questions, all details were taken care of ahead of time. We stayed 3 nights on land in the beginning and then we were taken directly to the marina to embark on one of the most amazing trips. We were met at the marina and all we had to do was unpack.We truly packed too many clothes for this trip and had to leave most of what we brought in a locker at the marina. Don't make my mistake. All you need is your swimsuit, a cover-up and a few dry clothes for evening. We loved this trip! I woke up every morning and took a look at the beautiful water and said," Ah, just another day in paradise!" Our captain, Ellis, took care of all the sailing and points of interest and our cook, Ashanti, was a marvelous cook! She cooked the most delicious meals and snacks. My husband asks me every week, when are we going back! We loved this trip! If you want to be completely relaxed and enjoy boating, being in the sun, and looking at the most beautiful water each day, this is the trip for you.
Jan S
“Excellent advanced sailing training- also very fun!!!!!!”

Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
I had signed up to do some advanced sailing training. 2 weeks before the trip the other student canceled. I was given the option to reschedule (I needed the training now!) or a shorter private training even though they don't normally do that. Cliffe Wilson, my Capt and instructor was a competent, professional, encouraging teacher. As a former flight instructor I know what it takes to be an excellent teacher and he is!!!! I came away much more confidence in my Captain ability and had a lot of fun along the way. Kerrie, along with Cliffe's wife Rachael made us delicious food (I want the recipes!) arranged for Allie, a tour guide friend to give me a private snorkel tour of the marine reserve, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I feel like I have new friends out on the water. Thanks to all of you!
Karen C
“Best. Vacation. Ever.”

Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
We wanted a memorable and unique 25th Anniversary vacation and we found it! We also wanted to take American Sailing Association Certification classes during our time aboard, and we got to do that too, which made it a really awesome learning vacation as well. Cliff and Rachael were phenomenal hosts. We got to sail two different catamarans, the Aubisque and the Doris, and both were lovely, spacious and fit out with all the amenities you can imagine. In one short week we covered four ASA sailing classes, snorkeled, spearfished, sailed a hobie cat, had a beach barbeque with fish we caught that morning, watched World Cup soccer games at a beachfront bar, windsurfed, swam with rays, sharks, turtles and barracuda. Each local guide was wonderful and knowledgeable, as were the mechanics and marina staff who gave us orientations to the boats. Our driver to and from the airport was prompt and friendly. This vacation was far beyond our wildest dreams; we were taken care of, entertained, educated and treated like royalty. We didn't know what to expect beyond just being aboard for a week of sailing, but they actually took the time to find out what our interests were and made sure we got to do lots of different things. Rachael is a phenomenal chef and provided unique and scrumptious meals that met our needs to a T. Cliff is not only an accomplished sailor but an excellent teacher as well, making our classwork fun and interesting. We will definitely be going back again and again!
Chris C
Best Experience of our Lives!”

For a stay in April 2015

We honeymooned with Captain Cliff and Chef Christy. If you are hesitating to take a trip with Belize Sailing Vacations, you shouldn't! It was without hesitation, the most incredible experience we've ever had. We are both past cruisers with large cruise ship lines and will never return to cruising after our personalized experience aboard the Aubisque. In the first 24 hours, we had done more than all of our cruising experiences added together: sailing, swimming, snorkeling, spear fishing, kayaking, conch diving, fishing, beach combing, site seeing... And that was just the first day! The trip continued with amazing experiences and 5 star meals. Of course the alcohol is all included and free flowing so that was a continued plus through out the trip. The trip started great with a man who they arranged to pick us up from the airport. The drive was short but full of information about the area and tips about what to eat and top sites to see. Every question we asked was met with friendly answers. Then we arrived at the boat where Cliff gave us a bucket for our shoes and Christy put a drink in our hands. We got on and took a tour and got a run down of the itinerary. Then we were off! We spent 4 days visiting small islands, fishing and snorkeling along the way. He introduced us to a few locals and helped us find the best places to shop or things to see. Cliff spent some time teaching my husband how to sail and aspects of navigation. Every dinner was candlelit and romantic. Every aspect seemed perfectly personalized to our wants for the day. It was so much better than any vacation we've ever been on and in the end, the strangers you meet at the dock, become new friends. The only regret we have is planning a short trip so we could spend time on land! When the end came, we didn't want to get off the boat... So much so, that we are planning another (and longer) trip with them this winter! Again, if you have any hesitations, put them aside and book with them. They will NOT disappoint.
Krissy B
“Unbelievable Vacation”


We (two couples) just got off an unbelievable sailing vacation aboard the Doris. Jason (our captain) was very knowledgeable and a great sailor. Jason was very personable and assisted us with all our needs. We always felt comfortable with him at the helm. Kainie (our chef) was excellent. We all really enjoyed the food and she went out of her way to accommodate our varied pallets. If you can afford the additional amount, the Doris is well worth it. The top area, where Jason piloted the boat, was a critical seating area when the boat was under way to get out of the sun and get an incredible breeze. The snorkeling was amazing. Our guide (Ally) was wonderful. She made us all feel very comfortable snorkeling with sharks and sting rays. ...Read full article on Trip Advisor
kktravel
  • family and friends pose on catamaran charter in beautiful belize
  • sunset belize blue water ocean reef waves
  • DSC_6894
  • local fruit basket in jungle belize
  • DSCN2516
  • cave opening while on trip exploring mayan caves and artifacts in belize
  • high angle Photo mayan temple group tour in belize Credit Zoe LVH
Guest Photos